The Unbecoming Of Mara Dyer – Michelle Hodkin

mara-dyerSynopsis

Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.


Review

The story starts off with a letter informing you that Mara Dyer’s name is in fact not Mara Dyer and starts talking about how no one would suspect her for murder. I straight away knew I was going to love this book. The prologue starts off with Mara and her friends Rachel and Claire playing a game. What game you may ask? A Ouija board, which you know can only end badly. Mara being the sensible girl she is doesn’t want to play and when Rachel asks “how am I going to die” at the board replies by saying “Mara” you know the book is going to get very interesting.

The story properly starts with Mara in hospital having no memory of how, why and what she is doing there. She learns that her 3 friends, Rachel, Claire and her boyfriend Jude were in a building collapse and she was the only survivor. She struggles to get back to normal life especially when she starts hallucinating. When people around her start dying exactly the way she pictured in her head she is just a tiny bit spooked. As much as she tries not to, she falls for the insanely hot British Noah Shaw. Mara’s life just keeps getting more crazy and she is sure she is going insane. Nobody believes her wild stories when she claims to see her dead friends and her family are convinced she needs help and that she is trying to hurt herself except Noah who is always there to catch her when she falls. The book slowly reveals that they didn’t just randomly meet and that Noah has a power as well. Together they investigate the force that brought them together, the powers that they have been given and try to get Mara’s memories back before someone else she loves gets hurt.

This book is one of my absolute favourites! Not only does it have amazingly written characters that are life but their ship name is “madness” (Mara Amitra Dyer, Noah Elliot Simon Shaw) which is the coolest and pretty much sums up the insanely amazing series.

Secrets, Lies, Betrayal, Love. This book will blow your mind and you will never see the ending coming!

5-star-rating


Quotes

“Thinking something does not make it true. Wanting something does not make it real”


“Asscrown,” I muttered under my breath as I headed to my next class. I wasn’t proud of swearing at a complete stranger, no. but he started it.

Noah matched my pace. “Don’t you mean ‘assclown’?” He looked amused.

“No,” I said, louder this time. “I mean asscrown. The crown on top of the asshat that covers the asshole of the assclown. The very zenith in the hierarchy of asses,” I said, as though I was reading from a dictionary of modern profanity.

“I guess you nailed me then.”


“That mouth. Smoking was a bad habit, yes. But he looked so good doing it.


 “There’s nothing I want. There’s nothing I can’t do. I don’t care about anything. No matter what, I am an imposter. An actor in my own life.”


Goodreads ● Book Depository ● Author’s Page

One thought on “The Unbecoming Of Mara Dyer – Michelle Hodkin

Leave a Reply

