Passenger – Alexandra Bracken

Alexandra-Bracken-Passenger.jpg

Synopsis

passage, n.
i. A brief section of music composed of a series of notes and flourishes.
ii. A journey by water; a voyage.
iii. The transition from one place to another, across space and time.

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them— whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are play­ing, treacherous forces threaten to sep­arate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home . . . forever


Review

Passenger is about a violinist prodigy named Etta who when playing her debut, gets sucked back in time and finds herself on a pirate ship. There she meets a guy named Nicholas and learns that her mother has a special ability to time travel and she has inherited the gene, just like Nicholas. She learns her mother has stolen something vital and the Ironwoods, a dangerous and powerful family, will stop at nothing to get it and if she wants her mother to live, she must find this object in days. So with the help of Nicholas, she travels to many different countries in many different centuries to find the mysterious object everyone is after. But everything isn’t as it seems and soon she realises why her mother stole it and that maybe finding it won’t only save her mother and set her free to go back to her normal time, but change time itself forever.

I enjoyed reading passenger so much. Honestly, I didn’t know if I would like it. Sure the cover is absolutely stunning and the synopsis sounded awesome but when I saw it was written in 3rd person I inwardly cried. I prefer reading books in 1st person so much better because I feel I can relate to it more and whenever I see a books written in 3rd person I slightly cringe. Which is really weird because some of my favourite books are in 3rd person. I think that for a 3rd perspective book to be good, it has to be really well written and Alexandra Bracken did an excellent job because Passenger was written amazingly! I was hooked from the first page and I had to find out how it ended. But now that I have finished it, I wish I hadn’t read it so fast because I need to know what happens next! Like right now! Even a synopsis for the next book would be great at the moment, I just need more information!! I loved Nicholas’s character so much because he is so honourable. All he wants to do is finish his dealings with the Ironwoods and be free to travel the sea with the family he has chosen. But when it comes down to it, he makes another deal with the Ironwoods to accompany Etta in her mission to find the astrolabe, the object her mother stole. He told her that if he thought she was in trouble or danger with the Ironwoods he would help her and help her he does. Sure he was also meant to be getting a reward for this deal and when he tells Etta the truth and she doesn’t even care I nearly cried it made me so happy. His character has seen so much pain and wrongdoings in his life especially in the culture and century he lives in, as he has dark skin. But he is always so strong and does whats right and it breaks my heart because he deserves to be happy and Etta and him are so perfect together and words can not describe how much I need the next book because I need more Netta! I also love Etta’s character and admire her ability to adapt so quickly under pressure. Because I can tell you, if I found out I could time travel and then was told I had to find an object that was stolen and no one has ever been able to find it and I had to find it to save my mother’s life, I wouldn’t know where to start. Etta’s mother kinda annoyed me but the secret code letters she left were so cool! I loved when Etta and Nick would travel back in time and learning about that time period was pretty cool. Although it confused me at times and I had to flick back and find out what year it was. But altogether, Passenger was amazing! I loved it so much and I highly recommend it. If you haven’t read Passenger yet, you need to go down to your local bookshop or online and buy it and as Nick would say, “look lively, we’ve a journey to make.”

4.5-stars.jpg


Quotes

“You cannot fathom the distance I would travel for you.”

“It’s our choices that matter in the end. Not wishes, not words, not promises.”

“How do you fight against a mountain? How do you move it when you don’t even have a shovel?” “Maybe you don’t have to move it,” Etta said, folding the gown over the lid of the trunk. “Maybe you have to climb it.”

“Nicholas felt a rueful smile spread across his face. And a curse be on him for it, because now he knew her. She’d shown him her mind, and she’d opened up her heart, and now he knew the taste of her tears. And he was wrecked.”

“There are rules, but rules may be rewritten if only one hand holds the ink.”

“In the whole course of history, war had always fallen on the shoulders of the young.”

“I love you.’ For whatever small comfort it was worth, he would have the truth between them now. ‘Most desperately. Bloody inconvenient, that.”

Goodreads ● Amazon ● Book Depository ● Author’s Page

One thought on “Passenger – Alexandra Bracken

Leave a Reply

