Starcrossed – Josephine Angelini

 

9721690

 

Synopsis

How do you defy destiny?

Helen Hamilton has spent her entire sixteen years trying to hide how different she is—no easy task on an island as small and sheltered as Nantucket. And it’s getting harder. Nightmares of a desperate desert journey have Helen waking parched, only to find her sheets damaged by dirt and dust. At school she’s haunted by hallucinations of three women weeping tears of blood . . . and when Helen first crosses paths with Lucas Delos, she has no way of knowing they’re destined to play the leading roles in a tragedy the Fates insist on repeating throughout history.

As Helen unlocks the secrets of her ancestry, she realizes that some myths are more than just legend. But even demigod powers might not be enough to defy the forces that are both drawing her and Lucas together—and trying to tear them apart.


MY Thoughts

As soon as I read the synopsis I knew I had to read this book! I’ve been wanting to read Starcrossed for a long time now and I was lucky enough to get a copy at the Lifeline Bookfest! Starcrossed is set in modern time Nantucket, a small island off of Massachusetts in America. I love reading about mythology since I was young as it really fascinates me and this book is all about Greek Gods and mythology which I loved reading about! There is always a slight twist and difference in mythology when authors write about it and I love seeing their point of views and where they go with it.

When I first picked the book up I thought it was probably going to just be a repeat of every star-cossed lovers book. Boy and girl fall in love but are destined to never be together, blah blah blah and yeah it was kinda like that but it had lots of unseen twists and turns at every corner which kept it so much more interesting. Helen was kinda boring at the beginning, the shy sweet girl that stays under the radar. But when she goes all badass and tries to kill Lucas, he character gets so much more interesting. Lucas, typical pretty boy who turns about to be anything but typical has so many different layers. On one hand he hates Helen but on the other he’s kind of in love with her. He wants to protect her and be with her but doing that very well may start an all out war with the Gods. Cassandra, Lucas’s little sister really annoyed me. She was never really happy and always seemed to have a chip on her shoulder. Yeah she is an Oracle so her fate isn’t really sunshine and daisies, but she walked around like a know it all, and yeah she kinda does know it all but she didn’t have to act like she is the superior. I loved Claire, Helen’s best friend. She is always so passionate and witty and I love how even though she has always known Helen is different, she has never actually thought of her as different and I love how their friendship is so strong. Having known what it feels like to have such a strong friendship and then suddenly not, the meaning of friendships and loyalties are really important to me and I love reading about strong ones that can withstand anything.

I have to admit I panicked at the end a bit and started to wonder if it was turning into a mortal instruments book (if you have read it you will know what I’m talking about). Although it is still an unanswered question at the moment, I am praying that in the end it turns out like city of glass (if you know what I mean) because otherwise I will cry. I love Helen and Lucas together but then again I kinda don’t. I found it more entertaining when they wanted to kill each other but at the same time want the to be together. I’m pretty keen to read the next one as a new possible love interest for Helen comes to town and I can’t wait to read about it! I recommend this book to anyone that loves Greek Mythology with a twist and a good old doomed romance.

4stars


 

Quotes

“I don’t care how hard being together is, nothing is worse than being apart.”

“So, what can’t you take? Decide which of the two options is harder, and do the other. That way, no matter how hard your choice turns out to be, at least you can find comfort in knowing you’re avoiding something even worse.”

“You’ve got the killer instincts of a houseplant.”

“She decided that if Lucas was gay then she was going to have to get a sex change operation. He would be so worth it.”

No. of Pages – 487

First Published – May 21st 2011

Publisher – Harper Teen

Goodreads ● Book Depository ● Amazon ● Author’s Page

 

Leave a Reply

