Evanescent – Gabriella Lepore

EvanescentTourBanner1.png

EvanescentSynopsis

“Then it is settled,” Felix declared. “Come hell or high water, when this is all over, at least one of us here will not make it out alive.”

When Bronwen Snow is pulled from her cottage in the middle of the night, she finds herself seeking the help of three mysterious boys who reside in an abandoned castle deep in the hillside. With only a hasty handwritten note and a vague sense of dread to guide her, Bronwen is forced to put her trust in the eccentric and willful Felix Cavara and his eternal curse – immortality.

Evanescent by Gabriella Lepore
Published by: Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing
Publication date: March 15th 2013
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult


My Thoughts

This month I worked with Expresso Book Tours to help promote Evanescent by Gabriella Lepore. This book left me speechless. The story is based on a girl named Bronwen Snow who is woken in the middle of the night and forced to flee to an unknown castle where she meets three mysterious boys, Alistair, Felix and Loki. Turns out there is a beast after her for an unknown reason and only these boys can help her, because it turns out these boys are stronger and faster than anyone else. Oh and they are immortal so I guess that comes in handy if you are being hunted. I loved the chemistry between Bronwen and Felix, although I felt it happened a bit too fast as the book is based over days, but nether the less I still enjoyed it. I also loved how fiercely protective the three boys are of each other, down to the very end. They had lived for hundreds of years together and they still loved each other so much and that is what instantly made me love them all. The characters are written really strongly and I love their witty remarks and thoughts. Because what is a book if there are no funny and sarcastic moments? I really liked Bronwen’s character because when it comes down to the end, she does what she has to do to survive and I admire her character for that, for not being selfish and being able to let go.

I highly recommend this book! It was such an adventure and so easy to get hooked on. But make sure you have some tissues next to you for when you finish.

SPOILERS BELOW

The book was really fast paced and before I knew it, I was left holding my book staring at the wall wondering how authors can be so cruel. Yes I loved this book but strongly disliked the ending. Although I didn’t like the ending, I know why it ended that way, putting others needs before yours and all that. But still, Felix kept going on about how he wanted to stay for Bronwen and how he was not going to take the ‘cure’. Then when it comes down to it, he takes it anyway and leaves Bronwen ‘walking out into the breaking dawn thinking about her life ahead of her’. That last sentence really bugged me emotionally. I really don’t like it when authors end a book like that because it makes it seem like the character doesn’t really care about what happened to the person that got left behind. Like they are just going to forget about how much they meant to them. But overall Evanescent was a really enjoyable book.

3-5-stars-1024x238


Goodreads ● Book Depository ● Amazon ● Author’s Page

* If buying from book depository, please click on the icon on the right sidebar or down the bottom and help support this blog. Thanks for your support!

ButtonXBTEvanescentTourBanner1

 

 

 

 

Click the link below to enter a special giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 thoughts on “Evanescent – Gabriella Lepore

Leave a Reply

