Flawed – Cecelia Ahern

Flawed-coverSynopsis

You will be punished…

Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.

But then Celestine encounters a situation where she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found flawed.

In her breathtaking young adult debut, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society where perfection is paramount and flaws lead to punishment. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything.

Book Title: Flawed

Author: Cecelia Ahern

Publisher: HarperCollins

Published Date: April 5th 2016


My Thoughts

Contains minor spoilers

Big thank you to the Harper Collins YA team who sent me a review copy of this amazing book!

Flawed is one of my favourite reads this year!

Flawed is a heart wrenching book where in the world we live in, you must be perfect. If you are seen as anything but perfect the Guild, the government, declares you as flawed and your body is branded with a big F for the world to know. Whether you have been seen to make ethical or moral mistakes in the society, dictates where on your body you are branded.

“For bad decisions, it’s their temple
For lying, it’s their tongue
For stealing, it’s their right hand
For disloyalty to the Guild, it’s their chest, over their heart
For stepping out of line with society, it’s the sole of their right foot.”

Flawed people must also always wear an armband with a red letter F so they can be identified. Once flawed, you are shunned from society and no longer have the benefits of the ‘perfect people’.

The story follows Celestine North, a teen who has always been anything but flawed. She lived the perfect life with the perfect boyfriend, perfect family and friends. This is until the day her perfect neighbor is declared flawed and she starts to question society’s rules. When she witnesses an act of cruelty against a flawed on the way to school, she can’t help trying to help the man, being caught in the act of aiding a flawed, which is seen as a criminal act. Taken away by the guild, she is to be set on trial to see if she herself is flawed. Caught between lying and saving her a lifetime of hurt or telling the truth but being risked as being seen as flawed, Celestine makes a last minute decision and stands up to the Guild. Because in truth, she didn’t do anything wrong, right? She was only showing compassion. But the guild isn’t compassionate and she is marked as flawed. During her trial time, she meets a guy named Carrick, a boy that had flawed parents and therefore was declared flawed at birth. Although they never once spoke while in cells next to each other, just before Celestine is branded, he speaks three single words, “I’ll find you” and it is those words Celestine holds onto. Craven, her ex boyfriend’s father, her once friend and Judge to the guild is angered by her decision and gives her all five brands which is unheard of and never happened before. But not only does he give her all five, he gives her a sixth, one on her spine for being flawed to the bone. No one knows of this but them, Mr. Berry who records the whole thing and Carrick who snuck into the viewing chamber. Once out of the facility, Celestine tries her best to regain a normal life, but she will never be normal again. Ruled by her marks, she must follow rules or more trouble will come to her and her family. But a revolution is brewing as more and more people hear about Celestine’s story and they too start to wonder about society’s rules. And where the hell is Carrick? He promised to find her but has disappeared and even given the whistleblowers, guards of the flawed, the slip. If he wont find her she has to find him and fast because Craven is looking for the people that know about her sixth brand because if society finds out, he himself may be deemed flawed.

I LOVED this story so much! From the first couple chapters I was so hooked and had to finish it as soon as possible. I loved Celestine’s character development. At the beginning she is ‘perfect’ and a snob. She would never dream of aiding or getting involved with flawed people. I love how we get to see her change and question the rules of society. She is a kind person and when she sees the flawed man on the bus she cant help helping him because she knows it’s the right thing to do. They deem her as ‘flawed to the bone’ but really, it’s everyone else who is flawed by not having normal and instinctual human emotions. I love how we get to see her point of view develop. I used to cry in books all the time but I haven’t for quite a while, but this book broke my clean slate. When Celestine was being branded, especially the sixth one, I just lost it. Just thinking about how I would deal with that and how brave she was made me really emotional and it broke my heart. I liked how that when the revolutionists tried to get her on bored she said no and tried to stay away from that kind of stuff. I really liked that even though everyone thought she was a poster girl for the revolution, she didn’t see herself as anyone different from any other flawed person. That she wasn’t up her self and she didn’t deem herself or want herself to be special, like other books I have read before, made me really like her character. I really want to read the next book to know more about Carrick! We didn’t get to find out much about him, as they didn’t really speak during the trial time. We know that his parents were flawed and he was raised in a Guild Academy where they try to un-flaw flawed children. We also know that he was declared flawed because he went searching for his flawed parents when he graduated, which is illegal and seen as disloyalty to the Guild, resulting in a brand to the chest. I loved how he popped up at the very end and saved her from the riot in the supermarket. The moment a guy picked her up I knew it would be him and when she realized it I got goosebumps I was so happy to see him again. But I need more Celestine and Carrick!!! I need the next book right now!

I highly highly highly recommend this book!! It is one of my favourite books I have read this year so far.

5-star-rating


Quotes

“I can’t be afraid of someone whose human side I see and know.”

“I know the difference between right and wrong. I understand the rules. But today I feel that the rules have been blurred, because today they were literally on my front doorstep.”

“It was the most perfect moment in my life.

It was the last perfect moment in my life.”

Goodreads ● Book Depository ● Dymocks ● QBD ● Amazon ● Author’s Page

Harper Collins Aus

3 thoughts on “Flawed – Cecelia Ahern

  1. I’m so glad you loved this one! It certainly sounds pretty awesome. Like, I couldn’t imagine a world where EVERYONE is perfect. I mean, Miley Cyrus said it best, “Nobody’s perfect.”

    It’s interesting that the characters all have names that start with C, haha. Anyway, Celestine sounds like an amazing character that I could easily grow to love. And I love how mysterious that love interest is!

    Like

Leave a Reply

