Charcoal Tears – Jane Washington

26569610
Synopsis

“You see, there is safety in simplicity… in a life of simple peace, where the electricity doesn’t dance across the backs of my eyelids, and the sparks don’t slither over my consciousness. Only asinine peace, where my paintings don’t seem to paint themselves, leaving me with terrible feelings of premonition and a chill beneath my fingernails.”

Seraph Black used to think that she was prepared for anything. She could last days without eating, and she always walked away from the violent altercations with her father relatively unharmed. She even survived working at the club, surrounded by the dregs of society, all staring into their bottles instead of noticing the unravelling lives that trailed behind them.

She had thought that she could survive anything, but she wasn’t prepared for Noah and Cabe to come bulldozing into her life, careless of the precious secrets they picked apart in their quest to take over her world. She was even less prepared for the mysterious Miro and Silas, but most of all…
Most of all… it was the stalker that threatened her talent for surviving. She wasn’t ready for the photos, and the messages. The warnings. The threats.

Seraph’s life of surviving in the shadows was over, because the searchlight had found her, and there was nowhere that she could hide.


My Thoughts

This book blew my mind!! I have never read anything like this book before! The first line had me hooked, “there is a place inside my mind that doesn’t belong”, I just had to know more about this character and book! I read this book for the first time last year and I have read it many times since because it’s that good!

The story follows Seraph Black, a seemly normal teenager who always blends into the background, with no friends and an abusive father. But then she runs into Noah and Cabe, or Noah and Cabe nearly run into her because they nearly run her down with their car! She knows their hiding secrets but she would never guess that she is destined to be connected to them along with Miro, her teacher who is one of the only people that cares about her wellbeing and Silas, the mysterious guy that always appears at the club she works at. But although she finds herself finally starting to be happy for once in her life, darkness is closing in. Someone is sending messages, threats and warnings and Seraph fears for her and her friends lives. She may have just found the four people that make her whole, only to lose them.

First of all, as I said I have never read anything like this book. The storyline and characters are so unique I fell in love with the book instantly. I found the bond that the four guys and Seraph had slightly strange at the beginning but I grew into it. Every time ‘The Messenger’ would send something it would give me shivers. At first is was kinda creepy with he photos but he kept going a step further and he quickly went from weird stalker to deadly stalker. Lets just say I would not want to get a stalker like that!

Let’s talk about the guys. I am in love with the guys oh my gosh, let’s say I would kill to be Seraph, although without having the Messenger looming over me because he is so not cool and creepy and disturbing and I wouldn’t want him stalking me. I love how they are always looking out for her and to be honest I really don’t know how to put this into words I love them that much. I love how Miro is always looking out for her and makes sure she is okay even though he feels weird because he’s her teacher. I love Cabe and Noah, they are like her personal bodyguards and damn would I love to have them as bodyguards. But Silas (no surprise I’m sure) is my fav. Dark, mysterious, tortured soul, his character just calls to me. I love that he has been silently watching over her for ages (that might sound kinda stalkerish, I guess he is kinda stalkerish but oh well! I’m fine with him stalking me any day!) He always watched over her when she worked at the club and made sure no one did anything to her. And I love how Seraph is the only one that can calm him down or get away with pushing him around.

This book is definitely one of my all time favourites and I just finished the 2nd book, Watercolour Smile, and I will have a review for that one up soon! The ending to the 2nd book broke my heart but I will talk about that at a later date. If I could give this 6 stars I would but alas, 5 is the highest. If you are reading this, you need to buy this book right now it’s only $4.22 on kindle so please please please support the author Jane Washington!! Also if enough people buy the book maybe it could be sold in paperback and that would be amazing because I so desperately want to hold this book in my hands!! What are you waiting for? Go read this book!

5-star-rating

 

 


Quotes

“I could still feel the glare of his eyes, and the image of them was seared so firmly into my brain that it seemed like my neurotransmitters had gone and printed propaganda posters of him to hang up around the place.”

“I’m having a bad day,” I told him.

Under normal circumstances, I was well aware that spilling your guts to scary-looking strangers in seedy clubs wasn’t the smartest thing to do, but it was another given in my life.”

“The stranger in the bar. I wasn’t entirely sure how it had started, or when it had started, but somewhere along the way he had become the only person that I could really say things to.”

“It was me, but it wasn’t me. This girl was free. I had painted the pain right out of her eyes. I had brushed the smile onto her lips, the ease into the set of her jaw. Her skin was unmarked, unbruised.”

Goodreads ● Amazon ● Author’s Page

Leave a Reply

