The Outliers – Kimberly McCreight

the-outliersSynopsis

It all starts with a text: Please, Wylie, I need your help.

Wylie hasn’t heard from Cassie in over a week, not since their last fight. But that doesn’t matter. Cassie’s in trouble, so Wylie decides to do what she has done so many times before: save her best friend from herself.

This time it’s different, though. Instead of telling Wylie where she is, Cassie sends cryptic clues. And instead of having Wylie come by herself, Jasper shows up saying Cassie sent him to help. Trusting the guy who sent Cassie off the rails doesn’t feel right, but Wylie has no choice: she has to ignore her gut instinct and go with him.

But figuring out where Cassie is goes from difficult to dangerous, fast. As Wylie and Jasper head farther and farther north into the dense woods of Maine, Wylie struggles to control her growing sense that something is really wrong. What isn’t Cassie telling them? And could finding her be only the beginning?

Book Title: The Outliers

Author: Kimberly McCreight

Publisher: HarperCollins

Published Date: May 3rd 2016


My Thoughts

I was lucky enough to receive a review copy of The Outliers from the Harper Collins YA team, so a big thank you to them!

The Outliers is a mystery thriller with a science fiction twist. It focuses on Wylie, a depressed teen girl who hasn’t been outside of her house since the day her mom died. When her best friend, Cassie’s mum comes to her house with the news that Cassie has disappeared and she suddenly starts getting cryptic messages from her, Wylie decides it time to get back outside and save her friend. With the company of Jasper, Cassie’s boyfriend, they travel around states in hope to find Cassie before it’s too late. But with people hunting for them and lies floating around, trust and allies are hard to find.

I enjoyed parts of this book and other parts kinda bored me at times. It started off pretty good and I loved the air of mystery around the story but I felt like it kinda dragged on for a while and then got interesting again at the end. Wylie’s dad is a scientist who studies emotional intelligence. His main focus of study are on outliers who tend to have a sixth sense, or better instinct than others.The whole book is based on the outliers, the title is even called The Outliers, but I feel like there wasn’t a huge amount of information about outliers. I know outliers are people who are more intuitive than others, but thats about it, so I hope there will be more facts in the second book.

I liked Wylie’s character a lot. At the beginning she was a fragile girl who wouldn’t even leave the house for school and by the end her character has grown so much and become so much stronger. I really liked Jasper as well, the quiet boy with a bad boy vibe but is really just misunderstood and isn’t actually a bad boy at all. My soul calls out for those types of characters. He kinda annoyed me at the beginning and he had some major anger issues but his character grew a lot as well. Cassie really annoyed me. She was known for wild streaks of just disappearing and she just expected Wylie and Jasper to come get her? She would send cryptic texts that lead Wylie and Jasper over state lines and still wouldn’t tell them where she actually was. And yeah, we learn later on that it wasn’t actually her fault for that but it still made me dislike her character. Wylie’s dad also annoyed me. He had done so much research on outliers but he wouldn’t really tell his family anything about it. People wanted his information and were going after him and his family but he still wouldn’t tell them about what he was really researching. It just really bugged me.

I love the cover art and design for this book! The embers and smoke make it look so mysterious and intriguing. I know people say don’t judge a book on it’s cover, but admit it, we all do and as soon as I saw this cover I knew I had to read it!.

Overall the book had a great plot, I just think some parts dragged on too long. I love thrillers and mysteries so I quite enjoyed it and can’t wait to find out more about the outliers in the next book!

3-5-stars-1024x238


Quotes

“Why are bad things so much easier to believe?”

“Something has the matter, or nothing will”

“Your going to be okay you know. Not now, but someday.”

“When you’re freaked out by everything, you’ll eventually be right about something.”

Goodreads ● Book Depository ● Dymocks ● QBD ● Amazon ● Author’s Page

Harper Collins Aus

 

Leave a Reply

