The Devil You Know – Trish Dollar

22929537Synopsis

Eighteen-year-old Arcadia wants adventure. Living in a tiny Florida town with her dad and four-year-old brother, Cadie spends most of her time working, going to school, and taking care of her family. So when she meets two handsome cousins at a campfire party, she finally has a chance for fun. They invite her and friend to join them on a road trip, and it’s just the risk she’s been craving-the opportunity to escape. But what starts out as a fun, sexy journey quickly becomes dangerous when she discovers that one of them is not at all who he claims to be. One of them has deadly intentions.

A road trip fling turns terrifying in this contemporary story that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.


Title: The Devil You Know

Author: Trish Doller

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Pages: 246

Date released: June 2nd 2015


My Thoughts

Big thank you to Bloomsbury for sending me a surprise review copy of this book!

A fun and daring road trip turns into a nightmare with a sinister plot in this psychological thriller.

The story focuses on eighteen year old Arcadia, a restless teen living in a tiny town in Florida who has the desire for adventure. She is sick of the same old routine so when she meets brothers Noah and Matt at a party and they invite her on a road trip, she jumps at the chance to escape the life she is living. But the further they travel, she feels something has changed and Noah and Matt might not be the people they say they are. Something sinister is going on, and Cadie is stuck right in the middle.

“Nothing is permanent. Anger passes. Stupidity is usually temporary. And even the best things in life can’t last forever.”

The Devil You Know may be as cliche as they come, girl meets boy, girl falls in love with boy, girl finds out boy isn’t who he says he is blah blah blah but it is such a compelling read and besides I always love a good cliche. Cadie’s character is quite interesting. First of all she decides to go on a road trip with her friend Lindsey and 2 random guys she just met and doesn’t even tell her family. If that doesn’t say insanity, I don’t know what will. Yeah they might be hot guys who are flirty and nice, but they could be serial killers. I mean, serial killers don’t always look like serial killers and she doesn’t know anything about them so… And then her friend Lindsey disappears and leaves a message saying she to go home, she didn’t even say goodbye in person and Cadie doesn’t really think anything of it and decides to keep road tripping with said 2 random guys. Alone. And then she finds a gun in their car and still decides to keep hanging with them. Don’t get me wrong, I really liked Cadie’s character, I just think she was a bit too reckless and could have stayed out of many bad situations if she had just stopped and thought about all the warning signs and how suspicious the guys were being. Noah and Matt both have an air of mystery to them but Noah screams at me because he is the dark and dangerous one and anyone that has read my other reviews would know by now that that is my type of guy. And maybe thats why I’m still single, because I can’t find any dark, handsome, dangerous guys that are actually really sweet and protective and… yeah. Fictional people are way better than real people anyway. But thats another story so back to the review. I knew from the very start that there was something shady about the guys and I knew which one was going to turn out to be the bady. As I said, it’s a cliche book. But it was still compelling read that had twists and turns at every page which kept it interesting and the reader engaged.

Overall I loved The Devil You Know, it’s just one of those books you can read over and over even though you know what’s going to happen. Thrillers are one of my favourite genres and I loved the story and it had such a good ending. I definitely recommend for fans of Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick!

4star

Goodreads ● Book Depository ● Dymocks ● QBD ● Amazon ● Author’s Page

Bloomsbury


Quotes

“Nothing is permanent. Anger passes. Stupidity is usually temporary. And even the best things in life can’t last forever.”

“Better the devil you know than the devil you don’t.”

“This isn’t going to end with a Scooby-Doo monologue about how my mummy didn’t love me.”


About the Author

25b3e3_f3e69c23627fa469f58aca23cfe7e269

I have been writing for as long as I can remember, but didn’t try to be a published author until more recently, something for which you should be thankful.

I was born in Germany, grew up in Ohio, and graduated with a degree in journalism from Ohio State University. Married someone really awesome and moved around with him a bit from Maine to Michigan and back to Ohio. I’ve worked as a radio personality and as a staff writer for my hometown newspaper. I also had a couple of kids along the way who have become two of the most interesting adults I’ve ever met.

These days I live, work, and sail in Florida with a relentlessly optimistic border collie and a pirate.

Leave a Reply

