I was a Bitch – Emily Ruben

31275301Synopsis

What if you woke up having forgotten the last two years of your life?

After a horrific accident Lacey Jones has to try piece together her shattered past. With no memory of the previous two years she finds herself in a relationship with a man she doesn’t know, and with a reputation for being the Queen Bitch of High-School.

She decides to keep the secret of her memory loss until she can figure out what happened in these two years she lost, trusting only the mysterious and sexy Finn to help her, but will she continue being that bitch or will she decide to rewrite her story?


Book Title: I was a Bitch

Author: Emily Ruben

Publisher: Inkitt

Published Date: October 7th 2016


My Thoughts

Thank you Inkitt for sending me a copy of I was a Bitch to review!

I was intrigued by this book from the very first page. The synopsis sounded so mysterious and thrilling and I couldn’t wait to read it. I was so excited when the publisher contacted me and told me he could ship me a physical copy to Australia!

“It was kind of scary come to think about it. My Queen Bitch act had worked very well though, so I had come to a conclusion. I was a bitch.”

The story follows Lacey who wakes up from a coma with two years worth of memory loss. After interacting with her so called friends and boyfriend, she comes to a conclusion, she was a bitch, but not just any bitch, the Queen bitch. But with two years of memory loss, Lacey doesn’t understand how she could have turned into such a terrible person. *Enter Finn* Finn makes her feel happy and safe and he is the one person she can be herself around. When flashbacks start coming back to her, she knows she can trust Finn to help her figure out what happened that night of the accident. But the real question is, after everything she finds out, can she go back to her old life or can she turn it around and be who she really is.

Stories about amnesia really intrigue me and this one was definitely towards the top of the list. The plot was throughly thought out, really interesting and was filled with heaps of surprises that just made you want to keep reading. Lacey was such a strong willed character. She didn’t want anyone to act differently around her so she kept her amnesia a secret from everyone (except from her family) while she figured out who she really was. Her internal commentary was hilarious and I just couldn’t get enough. Throughout the whole book we get to see her struggle with coming to terms at who she was and who she wants to be. I absolutely loved Finn. He was such a sweet, caring, understanding (not to mention undeniably good looking) guy. You could see how much he loved Lacey and how much he wanted to help her, so much that he didn’t stop her from making her own decisions (like continuing her relationship with Derek so she could figure out what happened on the night of the accident even though he knew he was a heartless pig). That point though kind of annoyed me. Lacey continued to be with Derek even after she realised she didn’t even like him and kept stringing Finn along as well. They had obviously been seeing each other in secret before the accident and even when she realises that she might love Finn she still does it and that was really not fair to him. I was so happy once she finally made a decision and booted Derek from her life! I loved Finn and Lacey’s moments together and I loved seeing her slowly remembering who he was to her. It was so cute!

I really liked how the story progressed and how we got to see more into Lacey’s past. The only thing I didn’t like was we didn’t really get to see exactly how Lacey turned from a shy, nice and sensitive girl into a Queen bitch. But maybe that was a good thing because it created more intrigue to the story. I felt like maybe it also went on a bit too long. I think that there were some unimportant parts that could have been cut out to make the story more to the point.

Overall I loved reading this book and discovering the mystery of what really happened along with Lacey. I love love loved the ending to the story! I thought it was an absolutely perfect ending to such a brilliant book!

4star

Goodreads ● Amazon

Inkitt


 About the Author

My name’s Emily Ruben and I’m a twenty year-old French writer. I’ve been writing ever since I could hold a pen and wrote my first story with my childhood best friend. When she stopped I continued on my own. I filled notebook after notebook before I owned a computer. At which point I started covering hundreds of Word pages with my ideas. I love to write the stories people wouldn’t automatically expect, with twisted plots or unhappily ever afters.

I switched from writing in French to English when I was sixteen and my computer was stolen, taking with it all my stories and ideas. After that, it seemed inspiration came to me more in English so I never went back to writing in French.

As of right now, I’m a student at the Panthéon-Sorbonne University, a music lover, passionate traveler and an avid eater of sweets.

Leave a Reply

