Haunt Me – Liz Kessler

30322601Synopsis

Joe wakes up from a deep sleep to see his family leave in a removals van. Where they’ve gone, he has no idea. Erin moves house and instantly feels at home in her new room. Even if it appears she isn’t the only one living in it. Bit by bit, Erin and Joe discover that they have somehow found a way across the ultimate divide – life and death. Bound by their backgrounds, a love of poetry and their growing feelings for each other, they are determined to find a way to be together.

Joe’s brother, Olly, never cared much for poetry. He was always too busy being king of the school – but that all changed when Joe died. And when an encounter in the school corridor brings him face to face with Erin, he realises how different things really are – including the kind of girl he falls for.

Two brothers. Two choices. Will Erin’s decision destroy her completely, or can she save herself before she is lost forever?


Title: Haunt Me

Author: Liz Kessler

Publisher: Hachette Aus

Pages: 388

Date released: October 6th 2016


My Thoughts

Thank you Hachette Australia who sent me a copy of Haunt Me to review!

Would you swap love for life itself?

This is one of those books where you think you know how its going to end and your right, but somehow your still surprised, angry and a little bit happy. It’s a story following three different characters who just want to belong. They want to find themselves and where they fit it the world. It’s a story of love, loss and sacrifice and yes, there will be lots of tears.

“If I never saw you again it would all have been worth it. You’re all I see and think and feel.”

The story focuses of Erin, a lonely girl whose family moved to a seaside town to help her start over and get a fresh start. Battling with depression and anxiety, Erin just wants to blend in and finish school as fast as possible. She soon finds out that the house she moved into (specifically her room) is haunted by a ghost of a teen named Joe.

When Joe wakes up and can’t touch anything or exit his room, he knows something is terribly wrong. When his brother walks into his room and says goodbye, Joe doesn’t understand why his brother is ignoring him. It isn’t until his brother says he can’t believe he will never see Joe again and watches his family drive away without him that he releases he is dead. Being stuck only in his room and knowing no one can see him, Joe falls into a loneliness he thinks will never break. When Erin and Joe accidentally touch hands, they become connected and quickly fall into a fast friendship. As the days go by Erin and Joe find themselves falling in love, but can you really have a relationship with a ghost?

Olly hasn’t felt the same since the day his brother died. Everything was perfect and then it disappeared in a single moment. When he hears a girl yell out his dead brother’s name at school, he knows he has to know her. The two quickly form a bond and Erin starts questioning her heart and which brother she can really have a life with. Will she chose love? Or life?

I really enjoyed this book. I thought from the beginning that this story couldn’t possibly have a happy ending, but I was pleasantly surprised. Haunt Me deals with a lot of tough issues such as depression, drug abuse, suicide and bullying and I think the author wrote it really well, helping us readers to get an insight into the life of someone suffering from these. I love how this book is really relationship based, and not just love, but friendship. I also loved how the author balanced light and dark moments. The book is based on death so there are many emotional parts, but there are also parts where you will be laughing your head off and cute scenes where you will be smiling so hard your mouth hurts. The characters themselves were a delight to read and there actually wasn’t a character I didn’t like. There was also huge character development throughout the book which I really enjoyed seeing. I found myself weighing the options towards the end of the book and although I wanted it to end one way when I first read it, I am very happy it went the other way instead. The ending was very bitter sweet and very satisfying.

The concept of Haunt Me was really original and fresh and I really enjoyed reading it. I would definitely recommend it to YA paranormal romance lovers.

4star

Goodreads ● Angus & Robertson ● Dymocks ● QBD ● Book Depository ● Amazon ● Author’s Page

Hachette Australia


Quotes

“If I never saw you again it would all have been worth it. You’re all I see and think and feel.”

“I think I could die and even my bones would miss you.”

“I just want someone to see me.”

“Can you be unfaithful to a ghost?”

“Do you know how perfect you are? You have woken me up.”

“I was looking for you in him. Please come back.”


About the Author

93726I have written seventeen books for children and Young Adults. I live in a beautiful part of Cornwall in the UK, where I write novels about mermaids, fairies, time travel and superpowers for the Middle Grade age group (between age eight and fourteen, depending on your interests and how much you enjoy reading!) I also write Early Readers about Pirate Dogs (inspired by my Dalmatian, Poppy) and Shetland Ponies for anyone between age four and seven. And I write books about teenagers coming of age, falling in love, discovering their identity and basically dealing with life, for the Young Adult (fourteen plus) age group.

Leave a Reply

