Long Way Home – Katie McGarry

30738170.jpgSynopsis

Seventeen-year-old Violet has always been expected to sit back and let the boys do all the saving.

It’s the code her father, a member of the Reign of Terror motorcycle club, raised her to live by. Yet when her dad is killed carrying out Terror business, Violet knows it’s up to her to do the saving. To protect herself, and her vulnerable younger brother, she needs to cut all ties with the club—including Chevy, the boy she’s known and loved her whole life.

But when a rival club comes after Violet, exposing old secrets and making new threats, she’s forced to question what she thought she knew about her father, the Reign of Terror, and what she thinks she wants. Which means re-evaluating everything: love, family, friends . . . and forgiveness.

Caught in the crosshairs between loyalty and freedom, Violet must decide whether old friends can be trusted—and if she’s strong enough to be the one person to save them all.


Title: Long Way Home (Thunder Road #3)

Author: Katie McGarry

Publisher:  Harlequin Teen

Pages: 448

Date released: January 31st 2017


My Thoughts

Thank you Harlequin who sent me a copy of Long Way Home to review!

We stand there, willing the other to relinquish control, but we’re too far on the other side of this war to make concessions.

I absolutely adored this book! Katie McGarry is just one of those authors whose writing just  calls to my soul and completes me. I love every one of her books especially the Thunder Road series, and Long Way Home did not disappoint. There was so much character development and it has so many important messages behind the story and being a teenage girl in this day and age, I can completely relate to it. I loved Chevy and adored Violet and I absolutely loved how Katie brought in characters from her other series Pushing the Limits!

“The club demands trust, loyalty and respect and I demand the same. I deserve that and you deserve someone who can be happy with the scraps you’d be willing to throw them after you swear your allegiance somewhere else.”

One of the main themes and messages in Long Way Home is that just because you are a women, doesn’t mean you don’t have a say or a voice. Women are allowed to make their own decisions and are no less then a man. They should be allowed to have their own thoughts and opinions and act on them without being told no by a man. They should be able to yell from a rooftop and be heard, not silenced like they are nothing. Violet constantly expresses and stands for this throughout the book and I just wanted to scream yes because girl power! Violet is such a strong, loyal, independent, fiercely protective, kickass character and a great role model for teens today. She has her own ideas and beliefs which she won’t let anyone change and she knows what she wants in life. She was definitely my favourite heroine in the Thunder Road series so far!

I loved Chevy but at times he ticked me off because he was constantly making decisions for Violet and I know that he just wanted to look after her, but by doing so, he was telling her she couldn’t look after herself which she obviously could. I liked him much more towards the end when he finally starts trusting her to do her own thing. I did love how fiercely protective he was of the people he loved including Violet, he just did it in the wrong way sometimes. With all that said, in the end he always knew what Violet needed and cared for her so deeply (which brought tears to my eyes, not gonna lie).

I loved the pace of the book and how I never got bored. There was always something going on or happening which was really engaging. It was so fast paced that I just couldn’t put the damn book down.

I really like how in each of Katie’s books, the characters all have their own individual problems and issues they have to sort out. Some are small and some are big issues that are scarred deep down and I love seeing the character overcome their demons and accept themselves.

Overall, I loved this book to pieces. The values, morals and story itself was so important and meaningful. The Thunder Road series is one of my favourite contemporary series and I can’t wait to see who the last book will be about! Do you have any theories? Leave a comment below!

5-star-rating

Goodreads ● Angus & Robertson ● Dymocks ● QBD ● Book Depository ● Amazon ● Author’s Page

Harlequin Australia


Quotes

“We’re like fireworks, Violet. Beautiful separate, but phenomenal when put together. Of course, you can’t have all of that without a few explosions.”

“I thought loving people was supposed to be easy,” he says quietly. “But it’s the hardest thing I’ve done. I wish I knew how to love you right.”
We stand there, willing the other to relinquish control, but we’re too far on the other side of this war to make concessions. Like being on a carnival ride with no restraints, my heart bounces between being bruised and broken and all combinations in between.

It’s every year, every age, three boys who are becoming men with just enough of Peter Pan in them to keep them young.”

“I’ve got you, Violet. I swear to God I’ve got you.”

“Can’t, let and won’t. Three words not to use with me. I’m not asking your permission. I’m informing you of the decisions I’ve made. You don’t see me telling you that you can’t be part of the club or I’m going to let you be part of the club or that I won’t stand for you to be part of the club. You’re a big boy, Chevy. You can make your own big-boy decisions and I’m a big girl and you need to learn to accept my big-girl decisions. You want a dog to order around and be obedient, I bet you can adopt one at the pound.”


About the Author

4575371KATIE MCGARRY was a teenager during the age of grunge and boy bands and remembers those years as the best and worst of her life. She is a lover of music, happy endings, and reality television, and is a secret University of Kentucky basketball fan.

Katie would love to hear from her readers. Contact her via her website, katielmcgarry.com, follow her on Twitter @KatieMcGarry, or become a fan on Facebook and Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

