King’s Cage – Victoria Aveyard

30226723Synopsis

In this breathless third installment to Victoria Aveyard’s bestselling Red Queen series, allegiances are tested on every side. And when the Lightning Girl’s spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion?

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.


Title: King’s Cage (Red Queen #3)

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Publisher:  Harper Teen

Pages: 528

Date released: February 7th 2017


My Thoughts

Thank you Haper Collins who sent me a copy of King’s Cage to review!

“The crushing weight of silence hangs heavy as always. For a moment it’s too difficult to breathe, and I wonder if this is how I die. Drowned in this bed of silk, burned by a king’s obsession, smothered by open air.”

Where do I start? I love the Red Queen series so much and King’s Cage did not disappoint! Victoria left Glass Sword with such a huge cliffhanger I was ready to sell my soul to read this book! Reading this book gave me shivers and I was seriously anxious until the very end because I had no idea how it was going to be left this time. I can say as the end is not as torturous as Glass Sword and yet equally if not more painful. #sorry

“Never doubt that you are valuable and powerful and deserving of every chance and opportunity in the world to pursue and achieve your own dreams.”

I wasn’t surprised to see King’s Cage was a split POV book but I was very surprised when I saw whose perspective it was coming from. I thought for sure it would be Mare and Cal but instead it was Mare and Cameron for the majority of the book. I’m going to be honest, I had no idea who Cameron was when I started and had to re-read the end of Glass Sword to refresh my memory. With that being said I don’t really see how Cameron’s perspective was important and would have liked to know Cal’s deepest darkest thoughts much more.

I loved seeing Mare’s character development and seeing her change from what she was in Glass Sword. Her mental strength was amazing and I loved how she would refuse to break. Not going to lie, I enjoyed the Mare/Maven moments and was secretly hoping she could repair the damage Maven’s mother did on his brain. I know Maven is a raging psycho who murdered lots of people and is probably a tiny bit crazy, but I can’t help but like him. Some of the things he said in King’s Cage broke my heart and I JUST WANTED TO FIX HIM. Cal was on the other hand, a slight disappointment. I love Cal and his character also had a lot of development and the Mare and Cal scenes brought happy tears to my eyes and hey, he finally chose a side! Or did he???? But in the end, I kind of wanted to stab him. Not going to say anything because that would be a major spoiler, but I did not like that ending (but going with the record the Red Queen series has on endings, you are guaranteed not to like it until the last book when everything is resolved). That being said, I kind of liked it because it will bring so much tension and will really test the characters loyalties.

I loved seeing enemies becoming allies (even if reluctant) and I can’t wait to see where it leads in the next book. The Scarlet Guard was badass as usual and I liked learning about all the new Newbloods and getting to know all of the powers they have.

And lets not forget the cover! The cover of King’s Cage is beyond stunning and the detail on the bones is just amazing! I can’t wait to see what type of crown the next instalment will have!

Overall, I absolutely loved this book even if it killed my soul! I need the next one ASAP!!

5-star-rating

Goodreads ● Angus & Robertson ● Dymocks ● QBD ● Book Depository ● Amazon ● Author’s Page

Harper Collins


Quotes

“Cal stares at the floor, silent for a long, stoic moment. “I never thought Maven would do that to her,” he mutters finally. “She probably didn’t either.”
Then you’re both stupid, my brain screams. How many times doe one wicked boy have to betray you people before you learn?”

“Cameron, my heart is quite literally in this,” he hisses through gritted teeth.
Swooning words. A romantic declaration. I can barely stop my eyes from rolling.
“Save it for when we get her back,” I grumble.”

“The crushing weight of silence hangs heavy as always. For a moment it’s too difficult to breathe, and I wonder if this is how I die. Drowned in this bed of silk, burned by a king’s obsession, smothered by open air.”

“Never doubt that you are valuable and powerful and deserving of every chance and opportunity in the world to pursue and achieve your own dreams.


About the Author

7074943

I’m a writer repped by Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media, Inc. I split my time between my hometown East Longmeadow, Massachusetts and Los Angeles. After graduating with a BFA in Screenwriting from the University of Southern California, I decided to try my hand at writing a novel. My debut RED QUEEN came out of the terrifying, unemployed year after college. The sequel GLASS SWORD released in February 2016.

Currently I’m working on the third book in the RED QUEEN series, along with pursuing other projects in literature and film. My proudest achievements are riding a horse in the mountains of Montana and navigating from London to Edinburgh without GPS.

Leave a Reply

