The Impossible Story of Olive in Love – Tonya Alexandra

33118240.jpgSynopsis

A break-out quirky novel that will appeal to readers of Rainbow Rowell.

I get that I’m impossible.
I get that I’m mad and rude — perhaps even a drama queen at times.
But you’d be impossible if you lived my life … You’d be impossible if you were invisible.
Shakespeare was an idiot. Love is not blind. Love is being seen.

Plagued by a gypsy curse that she’ll be invisible to all but her true love, seventeen-year-old Olive is understandably bitter. Her mother is dead; her father has taken off. Her sister, Rose, is insufferably perfect. Her one friend, Felix, is blind and thinks she’s making it all up for attention.

Olive spends her days writing articles for her gossip column and stalking her childhood friend, Jordan, whom she had to abandon when she was ten because Jordan’s parents would no longer tolerate an ‘imaginary friend’. Nobody has seen her — until she meets Tom: the poster boy for normal and the absolute opposite of Olive.

But how do you date a boy who doesn’t know you’re invisible? Worse still, what happens when Mr Right feels wrong? Has destiny screwed up? In typical Olive fashion, the course is set for destruction. And because we’re talking Olive here, the ride is funny, passionate and way, way, way, way dramatic.

This story is for anyone who’s ever felt invisible.

This story is for anyone who sees the possible in the impossible.


Title: The Impossible Story of Olive in Love

Author: Tonya Alexnadra

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Date released: March 20th 2017


My Thoughts

Thank you Harlequin Aus for sending me a copy to review!

Olive, the main character’s grandmother was cursed by a gypsy which made her invisible to everyone but her true love. This curse continued for her mother and now Olive herself. It took me a while to get the hang of her being invisible because there were lines when it said people looked at her funny, but isn’t she invisible? It made me quite confused. But as the book progressed I started to understand it better and started to enjoy the story.

Olive was a very frustrating character who I wanted to strangle for a good solid 80% of the book. She was very stubborn, arrogant, and way too dramatic. She would constantly be sabotaging her relationship with Tom, the only person who can actually see her. She frustrated me to no end. All that being said, being invisible to every single person would really make you angry at the world and mess with you so I understand why her character acted the way she did. Tom on the other hand was a great character. He was sweet, strong and I felt like he was very real. Plus he always put up with Olive’s annoying issues. One of the things I loved about this book was how the importance of family was portrayed. Yes Olive’s family had problems like any other family (maybe a tiny bit more with all the invisibility things), but they always stood strong even when everything seemed impossible. Rose, Olive’s sister was my favourite character in this whole book. She loved Olive to no end, she pushed her relationship with her boyfriend to the side, even though it was obvious how much she loved him, so Olive could have her space. She pretended to be Olive so Tom’s family could meet her, she was constantly doing things for Olive that she couldn’t do herself because of her invisibility and she even kept specific seats free in the house so she wouldn’t accidentally sit on Olive (which I found kinda sweet). Tom also had a strong family that cared so much about each other and I loved reading about it.

I enjoyed the plot itself and found the aspect of invisibility really interesting. Being invisible would give you a lot of perks, you could basically do anything you want, but it is not something I would wish upon anyone. I also loved how it was based in Australia! There aren’t many books set in Australia and being Australian myself I always get excited when they are.

Overall, The Impossible Story of Olive in Love was a quick fun read about life, love and knowing when to let go. I would recommend it if you enjoy cute contemporaries with a mystical twist!

Unknown

Goodreads ● QBD ● Dymocks ● Book Depository ● Amazon ● Author’s Page

Harlequin Aus


About the Author

Tonya-Alexandra-smiling

I’ve always valued imagination and creativity over reality. (Although I love reality TV. Hello. The Bachelor – best TV show ever!) As soon as I was old enough, I read fairy stories compulsively and wrote them on my typewriter. Yep. Typewriter. Damn. I must be old.

When I wasn’t reading or writing I’d make up stories, plays, movies with my sisters and best friends. A lot of us moved into creative industries, I did my time with the corporates in marketing, PR, web producing, travel writing. But it was never creative enough. It KILLED me.

I began writing novels when I became a stay-at-home mum. (I have the three best sons in the universe.) It started when my boys would nap in the afternoon and grew into a full time obsession. I am an awful person when I don’t write. Writing drip-feeds me some kind of jedi-like force. It’s therapy. I’m very passionate about people finding ‘their creative thing’. It doesn’t have to be painting masterpieces or writing Pulitzer prize literary; it is sewing or singing, keeping a diary or cooking. It’s making something, not taking something.

Leave a Reply

