When It’s Real – Erin Watt

30731416.jpgSynopsis

From #1 New York Times bestselling author duo Erin Watt comes the addictive contemporary tale of a teen rock star in need of an image makeover and the teen girl hired to be his fake girlfriend.

Meet Oakley Ford-teen celebrity, renowned pop star, child of famous movie stars, hottie with millions of fangirls… and restless troublemaker. On the surface he has it all, but with his home life disintegrating, his music well suddenly running dry, and the tabloids having a field day over his outrageous exploits, Oakley’s team decides it’s time for an intervention. The result: an image overhaul, complete with a fake girlfriend meant to show the world he’s settled down.

Enter seventeen-year-old Vaughn Bennett-devoted sister, part-time waitress, the definition of “normal.” Under ordinary circumstances she’d never have taken this gig, but with her family strapped for cash, she doesn’t have much of a choice. And for the money Oakley’s team is paying her, she figures she can put up with outlandish Hollywood parties and a team of publicists watching her every move. So what if she thinks Oakley’s a shallow, self-centered jerk? It’s not like they’re going to fall for each other in real life…right?


Title: When It’s Real

Author: Erin Watt

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Date released: May 30th 2017


My Thoughts

Thank you Harlequin Aus for sending me a copy to review!

Let me start off saying that this book is so cliche but it’s so good. Sometimes you just need to read a good cliche, and if you’re looking for a new one definitely pick this book up! Whenever I am in a reading slump, I usually go straight for the cliche contemporaries because they usually have a cute romance that makes you just feel happy and When It’s Real didn’t disappoint and helped me out of my forsaken slump. I have heard mixed reviews about this book and the authors, but I really enjoyed reading this beauty.

The story follows teen pop star Oakley Ford who is desperate for a new sound and who needs a different image to the bad boy party guy he is. His PR team decide the best way to change this would be for him to date a normal girl. After the death of both Vaughn’s parents, she would do anything to save her family’s financial problems. When Oakley’s team offer her a huge amount of money, she reluctantly agrees to take on the role of Oakley’s fake girlfriend. Let the drama begin!

I really enjoyed this book, to the characters (annoying as they were at times) to the plot and the twist at the end. Reading this book really made me wonder if I would agree to this if I was in a similar position, and lets be honest, who wouldn’t? But it also made me realise what goes on behind the scenes of a celebrity’s life.

From the start I knew their enemy, hate, fake relationship would become something real (I mean look at the title) but you can just tell from the synopsis (like I said cliche). But it didn’t stop me from the wondering and fretting every time they had a fight. Oakley was an obnoxious douche at the beginning of the story and I loved seeing him change throughout the book. I loved seeing the growth in his music as well and the passion he had for it. The thing about Vaughn that I liked was she really was just an everyday girl trying to make it through life. She had a job, boyfriend and a large family she was trying to look after. Reading through Vaughn’s point of view really brought to light how aggressive fans and fangirls can be. I have seen it happen in real life, how fans get angry when some famous starts dating someone because ‘they are their boyfriend or girlfriend’ and how much they attack the person. You should never attack someone for being happy and doing what they want and love. I think it was an important part of the book, especially in todays society with Twitter and other social media.

Overall, I definitely recommend When It’s Real because it’s such a cute, fast paced contemporary that will leave you feeling happy and satisfied.

4star

Goodreads ● QBD ● Dymocks ● Angus and Robertson ● Book Depository ● Amazon ● Author’s Page

Harlequin Aus


Quotes

“Half the time when you open your mouth, you say something that makes me want to punch you.” Vaughn gives a rueful smile. “But when you sing…you make it really hard to hate you.”

“You’re beautiful. Every day I’m with you is brighter and more exciting than the last.”

“I don’t know when that happened, but somewhere along the line Vaughn went from the girl I was forced to have on my arm to the girl I want to have in my life.”

“This is as real and as awful and as wonderful as it gets. I’d hold her forever if she’d let me.”


About the Author

Erin Watt is the brainchild of two bestselling authors linked together through their love of great books and an addiction to writing. They share one creative imagination. Their greatest love (after their families and pets, of course)? Coming up with fun–and sometimes crazy–ideas. Their greatest fear? Breaking up.

Leave a Reply

